Dancing with the Statesboro stars

Dancing with the Statesboro stars

0 405

      On October 1, 2015, at 7 p.m., Dancing with the Statesboro Stars, the major fundraiser for Safe Haven, will be held at the Georgia Southern Performing Arts Center.

      The money from this event goes to a great cause, Safe Haven. Safe Haven is an emergency domestic violence shelter that covers and serves six counties in the state of Georgia.

      Mrs. Kim Billings, Associate Director/Legal Advocate for Safe Haven, said, “ We offer emergency shelter, access to clothing and personal supplies, legal advocacy such as temporary protective orders and court accompaniment, transportation needs, help with the doctor referrals and medicine needs, a children’s program, a transitional living program, a rapid rehousing program, etc.”

      The money from this event greatly helps Safe Haven to “keep its doors open” each year.

      Dancing with the Statesboro Stars involves twelve local “stars” paired with twelve local dance professionals.  The teams learn a dance that they will perform on the night of the big event.  There are two ways to win DWTSS: The Judge’s Choice Award and The Fundraiser Award. The twelve teams will also individually raise money for Safe Haven.  

      Billings says, “I am honored to be a part of DWTSS.  It is so special and rewarding to be a part of something where so many people come together to help those trying to escape domestic violence.  I think we have a great line up of dancers who seem to be very dedicated to not only making the actual show great but making a difference in our community and the lives of the individuals who may fall victim to domestic violence.”

       This year’s Dancing with the Statesboro Stars is presented by Georgia  Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram and will be held on Thursday, October 1, 2015 at 7p.m. at the Georgia Southern University Performing Arts Center. The following are the twelve dancing pairs:

Michelle Davis:  Ron Washington


Beverly Prince: Jimmy McNeely


Alex Salmon: Gerald Hitchcock


Andrea Howard: Bryan Realiza


Erin Dalton: Devon Thompson


Crystal Evans: Justin Norris


Joey Fennell: Alaina Peay


Bubba Hunt: Marcie Crosby


Dr. Suketu Patel: Katie Walker


John Witherington: Jessica Zettler


Patrick Webb: Melanie Lewis


Chandler Dennard: Stacie McDaniel

     “The first Dancing with the Statesboro Stars was held in 2011 and we are excited to have our fifth DWTSS this year!,” Billings said.



0 403


Leave a Reply